This year’s Storm Scholarship Doubles Tournament was held on Sunday, March 3rd at The Ashwaubenon Bowling Alley in conjunction with the 21st Annual WI High School State Bowling Championships.  With 230 entries (181 boys/coed and 49 girls), we award scholarships to the top five girls teams and 18 boys/coed teams based on a 1:10 ratio.

In the girls division Stephanie Handford (Kettle Moraine/District 1) and Taylor Jensen (Sun Prairie/District 4) blasted a 925; earning a scholarship prize of $300 (or $150 each).  Low to cash (5th place) was 872.  High game for the girls was a 270 by Caitlin Powers & Allison Powers.

The boys division saw equally high scores, with 932 by Michael Rogers (Waterford Union /District 3A) and Ben Nowacki (Waterford/District 3A) winning the event.  The pair split the $500 first place scholarship.  The final scholarship prize (T17th place) was won with a score of 873.  Kelly Whipple & Chase Heling rolled the tournament’s high game of 289, helping the duo to a fourteenth place finish in the boys/coed division.

The official prize list may be found here.

BCAW thanks Storm for being our title sponsor, providing added money to the prize fund.
Updated 12/3/19

In reviewing the tournament materials for the 2019 Storm Scholarship Doubles tournament held on March 3, 2019 at The Ashwaubenon Bowling Alley, we uncovered inconsistencies between our website information and the tournament entry form.  We based our initial prize fund (1:10) on the information published on the website.  The tournament entry form, however, advertised a 1:8 scholarship payout.

Today we awarded additional scholarships to meet the 1:8 prize fund distribution. This added one additional scholarship for sixth place in the girls division and five additional places in the boys/coed division.  This brought our total scholarship payout to $4,780 rather than the original headline amount of $4,300.

The corrected prize list may be found here.