We are excited to announce the Bowling Centers Association of Wisconsin (BCAW) continues our commitment to bring bowling programming and services to 11 centers* located on Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.  The centers are all part of the Wisconsin State USBC, with certified bowlers eligible to participate in other state events including the WI Open Championships, WI Women’s Championships, WI Youth Championships and the WI Senior Championships.

“Providing an opportunity for more USBC youth certified bowlers to participate in an event that awarded nearly $27,000 in scholarships this past year demonstrates our commitment to youth bowlers,” remarked BCAW Executive Director Yvonne Bennett.  BCAW has created a new “Pepsi Region #18” for bowlers advancing from their local in-center leagues, with regional competition scheduled over two weekends (March 26-27 and April 2-3) at Larry’s Lucky Strikes in Ironwood, Mich.  The advancing ratio from league to regional level is 1:3 in each age/gender division.

All certified youth bowlers bowling in USBC youth certified leagues are eligible to participate through their local center leagues as a benefit of USBC membership.  At the youngest age divisions (U8 and U10) those advancing to the regional competition pay a regional entry fee of $25  where they bowl for scholarships based on age/gender divisions.  A minimum of $100 is paid to the first place in each of the four divisions at the regional level in these younger age groups (U8 and U10).

In the older age divisions (U12, U15 and U18) bowlers compete to advance to the state finals based on a 1:10 ratio, where all who advance and bowl, receive a minimum of a $100 scholarship.  There is no additional entry fee for those advancing to the state finals.  Earlier this year, we awarded $20,746 to 126 kids bowling in the Wisconsin State Finals.  Additionally, we award berths to the Junior Gold Championships to each of our age division champions.  The 2022 Junior Gold Championships will be hosted in Grand Rapids, Mich.

The 2022 WI Pepsi USBC Championships will be held at Dale’s Weston Lanes on Saturday, May 14th.

For all the information needed to run in-center league qualifiers, including tournament rules and entry forms, please go to our website or contact Roger Dalkin, BCAW Program Manager at the BCAW office.

* The 11 bowling centers are:
Bowl A Rama – Escabana
Crystal Lanes – Crystal Falls
Konteka Lanes – White Pine
Larry’s Lucky Strikes – Ironwood
Logger’s Alley – Bruce Crossing
Millers Recreation Lanes – Laurium
Mike’s On Main – Norway
Mine Shaft – Houghton
Ojibwa Lanes & Lounge – Baraga
Recreation Lanes – Iron Mountain
Whirl-I-Gig Bowl – L’Anse