By Patrick Brettingen

It was a day of stellar scores, friendly competition, enthusiasm and sportsmanship.

That description captured the essence of the All Star Team Challenge held March 9 at Riviera Lanes in Green Bay. The center was packed with enthusiastic spectators and bowlers for the event, which was the finale to an outstanding 2023-24 BCAW High School Bowling Club season.

A total of 135 of Wisconsin’s best high school bowlers squared off in a unique format combining singles and team Baker competition. All 14 BCAW high school districts were invited to send their top five individuals based on their year-end fill percentage to send a boys and girls all-star team. All of the boys’ teams and girls’ teams competed in separate divisions. BCAW provides $1,700 in scholarships to our top performers in both the singles and team portion of this event.

The tournament format combined a three-game singles competition and a 10-game Baker style team competition with total pins from both events added together to determine the top three teams in each division. The top three teams advanced to the stepladder finals, which featured two-game Baker matches to determine a champion.

In the morning session, 65 girls and 70 boys rolled three games of singles with the top finishers earning separate titles. When the dust settled, Miley Brooks of Shoreland Lutheran won the girls’ singles championship with a 662 series, while Ben Moczynski of Racine Horlick captured the boys’ title with 685. Both bowlers earned $200 scholarships and plaques.

Here are the top five girls’ and boys’ singles finishers:


  1. Miley Brooks, Dist. 3A – Shoreland Lutheran, 662 ($200 scholarship and plaque)

    Singles’ champions Ben Moczynski, left, and Miley Brooks

  2. Olivia Boegel, Dist. 7B – Campbellsport, 623 ($100 scholarship and plaque)
  3. Addison Kohl, Dist. 7A – Oostburg, 617 ($50 scholarship and plaque)
  4. Riley Cullen, Dist. 1 – Kettle Moraine, 612 (plaque)
  5. Tayler Baker, Dist. 4 – Sun Prairie East, 598 (plaque)


  1. Ben Moczynski, Dist. 3A – Racine Horlick, 685 ($200 scholarship and plaque)
  2. Jake Paulson, Dist. 10 – New Life Academy, 679 ($100 scholarship and plaque)
  3. Kam Morris, Dist. 9A -Baraboo, 677 ($50 scholarship and plaque)
  4. Travis Tock, Dist. 7A – Sheboygan Lutheran, 668 (plaque)
  5. Jack Steger, Dist. 9 – Antigo, 665 (plaque)


One exciting moment of the singles competition was Portage High’s Aiden Scott of District 9A. The righty two-hander fired a beautiful 300 game that had the crowd and bowlers roaring.

After a lunch break and re-oiling, the 10-game Baker team competition began in the afternoon. In the girls’ division, the District 3A squad compiled a grand total of 4,780 pins (2,752 singles, 2,028 Baker team) to earn the top seed for the stepladder. District 10 was second with 4,433 (2,668, 1,765) while District 9 (2,610, 1,769) claimed the third seed.

District 9 took care of business in the girls’ stepladder, defeating District 10, 389-333, before moving on to face District 3A in the championship match. District 9 would not be denied, rolling games of 189 and 195 for a 384 total to defeat 3A (182 and 149, 331 total) and claim the overall girls’ title.

In the boys’ division, District 9A totaled 5,122 (3,077, 2,045) to earn the top stepladder seed. District 8A was second at 5,058 (2,956, 2,102) and District 9 claimed the third seed with 4,956 (2,926, 2,030).

In the boys’ stepladder, District 9 opened by taking down District 8A, 401-355, to advance to the title match against top seed District 9A. Just like its girls’ counterpart, the District 9 boys climbed up from the third seed to win the boys’ title by defeating District 9A, 373-357.

Here are the top three girls’ and boys’ overall team finishers:


District 9 girls’ team champion

1. District 9 (Marly Krueger, Merrill; Holly Orgeman, DC Everest; Morgan Bushman, Marshfield; Peyton Smith, Merrill; Johanna Dellenbach, Rhinelander) – $500 scholarship/$100 per player

2. District 3A (Kristin Graham, Kenosha Tremper; Miley Brooks, Shoreland Lutheran; Madison Venne, Racine Case; Skylar Petts, Indian Trail Academy; Abby Veto, Union Grove)
3. District 10 (Payten Kusilek, River Falls; Carlie Lohman, Superior; Autumn Niggemann, Colfax; Mackenzie Krause, Chippewa Falls; Raelyn Mitchell, Baldwin)


1. District 9 (Brady Jaecks, DC Everest; Dylan Smith, Merrill; Landon Carter, DC Everest; Cooper Rickert, Antigo; Jack Steger, Antigo) – $500 scholarship/$100/player)
2. District 9A (Trayton Lapacek, Baraboo; Tyler Poker, Baraboo; Alex Acevedo, Baraboo; Kam Morris, Baraboo; Aiden Scott, Portage)
3. District 8A (Christopher Cieszynski, Omro; Zachary Olson, Neenah; Dylan Herbst, Appleton North; Tyler Brown, Appleton West; Ryan Tesch, Appleton North)

Full standings are available here on the All Star Team Challenge webpage.

District 9 boys’ team champion

The BCAW extends a tremendous thank you to Riviera Lanes and its courteous and hard-working staff for hosting another exciting All Star Team Challenge.